Trout Educator Award - Nominations Open!

Written on 11/20/2018
Fox Valley Lutheran HS

The Trout Educator Award was established in 2007 by Dr. Monroe and Sandra Trout in honor of Dr. Trout's parents, David and Florence Trout, and his brothers and sisters. The purpose of this award is to recognize a full-time FVL teacher each year for his/her efforts in and out of the classroom. The award money is to be used by the educator to pursue professional growth opportunities to advance his/her education and benefit the FVL student body. The use of the remaining portion of the award is left to the discretion of the educator.

Educators can be nominated by students, parents, school administration, or fellow teachers. All full-time FVL faculty are eligible except the principal, who chairs the Selection Committee. Past recipients are not eligible for five years after receiving the award. For the 2018-19 school year, this includes:

  • Shawn Hill (2014)
  • Craig Charron (2015)
  • Isaiah Degner (2016)
  • James Neujhar (2017)
  • Nathan Nolte (2018)

Criteria for a nomination include how the teacher impacts students in the classroom, the FVL family, and the church or community at large.

Nominations must include at least one letter of recommendation from someone besides the person making the nomination. It can be a student, parent, FVL graduate, teacher, pastor, or community leader.

To nominate a teacher, download the form at and follow the instructions. All nominations are to be submitted to Principal Granberg by 1/30.